Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content

We Provide a Free Guide

Our FREE guide provides helpful information about how to apply for benefits. Learn more about us here.

Get the Guide

Learn About Section 8 Requirements in Michigan

Wondering if you meet the Section 8 requirements in Michigan? If so, be mindful that many different factors determine eligibility for the Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program. The HCV program is maintained by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and administered by the Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA).

If you apply for these HUD vouchers, your Section 8 qualifications will be reviewed by a caseworker at one of the local Public Housing Agencies (PHAs) in the state. However, keep in mind that these housing vouchers are in high demand, meaning that you must meet all the requirements in order to receive a spot on the waitlist. Furthermore, reviewing the different eligibility factors may help save you time and make a decision regarding whether you have a good chance of receiving vouchers.

What are the Section 8 requirements in Michigan?

You may meet Section 8 eligibility in Michigan if you are a resident of the state. You must also qualify based on your:

  • Citizenship or legal non-citizen status.
  • Income level.
  • Ability to pass a background check.

In order to meet the proper citizenship requirements, you and each of your family members must have Social Security Numbers (SSNs). If one of your family members does not have an SSN but is in the process of getting one, your household may still be able to qualify.

Household members without SSNs must also prove that they are in the country legally. To do so, they are required to present an unexpired document issued by the federal government to a caseworker.

Next, your family’s income must not exceed the Section 8 income limits in Michigan. Income limits may vary from year to year, so it is important to check the most recent guidelines established by the HUD and the MSHDA.

In addition, your household must meet the HUD definition of “family” in order to receive vouchers. General HUD guidelines define a family as:

  • An applicant living alone.
  • An applicant who may be defined as elderly, near-elderly or disabled.
  • A group of people who live together, and who may or may not be related by blood or marriage.

Local PHAs have the authority to give an applicant Section 8 housing eligibility even if he or she does not necessarily meet this definition.

Lastly, each member of your household must pass a background check. If drug-related crimes, violent crimes or other crimes show up on your background check, you may be disqualified from the HCV program. To learn more about requirements for HCV eligibility, download our informative guide.

What are the Michigan Section 8 income limits?

The Section 8 housing requirements in MI state that you must not exceed the income limit for your household size. The more household members you have, the higher the income limit that applies to you.

According to the HUD, you may qualify for the HCV program if your income is lower than 50 percent of the median income in your area. The median income is the earnings level that falls halfway between the highest and lowest earners in the county. Every member of your family who holds a job must report his or her earnings.

The Section 8 income guidelines have rules regarding income preference. If your family’s income is lower than 30 percent of the median income in the county, for example, your application will receive preference. This is because PHAs are required by the HUD to offer at least 75 percent of their vouchers to families who fall into this category.

Note: Since median income is determined by the earnings in each county, every PHA in MI has its own set of income limits. It may be helpful to contact your local PHA if you want to know the exact income limit that applies to your family.

In addition, the MI Section 8 requirements have assets and resources components. If you have assets that are worth over a certain amount, you must report them. This rule applies to unearned income and resources such as:

  • Stocks and bonds
  • Cash on hand
  • Money in checking or savings accounts
  • Property under your name beyond your housing unit

Most vehicles are not considered assets for the purposes of the HCV program unless they are luxury vehicles.

Which documents do I need to meet Section 8 requirements in Michigan?

If you think you meet all the Section 8 qualifications, you must still prove that the information you provide on your application is accurate. Thus, you must show these documents to a caseworker after you have submitted your application.

Each case worker will use the provided paperwork to verify your personal information. Important documents to have include:

  • Proof of citizenship in the form of a U.S. driver’s license, state ID, passport or birth certificate.
  • Proof of legal presence if you are a non-citizen, such as a visa or permanent resident card.
  • Proof of residency in the state, such as a recent utility bill or lease agreement.
  • Proof of employment, such as a recent paycheck or letter from your employer.

Your MI Section 8 eligibility may depend on your ability to produce other documents as well. If you have a disability, for instance, your PHA may request medical documentation. If you are a student, you may be asked to provide proof of enrollment at college, university or training program.

Which Pennsylvania Section 8 housing requirements do I have to meet?

If your earnings fall below the Section 8 income limits and you meet the other program requirements, you may receive an approval notice from your PHA. From there, you may begin searching for a new home.

Keep in mind that you must agree to follow the rules and regulations of the housing process. For instance, you may need to select a home off of a list of Section 8 housing units in the area.

Then, you must agree to look for a home within a certain price range. In addition, the home you choose must meet the HUD safety standards and pass an inspection.

What happens if I don’t meet the Section 8 qualifications?

If your PHA decides that you do not have Section 8 housing eligibility, you have a few options. You may re-apply at a later time or request an informal hearing. If you request an informal hearing, you can meet with a representative from your PHA and discuss the reasons your application was denied.

Learn How To Apply For Section 8 Program With Our Guide

As an independent and private company, we are proud to help our users learn about the benefit application process.

  • Get Free Information with Our Guide
  • Take our optional survey to receive, based on your answers, related offers from our partners!
  • Keep Updated with Curated Content